The prize is given to Yonath for her for research on the structure of ribosomes, the intra-cell unit responsible for producing proteins. At the time of her award, she is the director of the Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Center for Biomolecular Structure and Assembly of the Weizmann Institute of Science.