21st Knesset Election

Elected four years after the March 2015 election, this Knesset sits for a record short time. Both Likud and Blue and White secure 35 seats each. There are 49 new legislators as compared to the March 2015 election. The Knesset dissolves parliament for new elections due to Prime Minister Netanyahu’s inability to form a 61-member coalition. Israel Beitenu’s Avigdor Lieberman refuses to align with Netanyahu due to his insistence that the Ultra-Orthodox be recruited for national service.