18th Knesset elections are held. Despite a second place finish, with (29) parliamentary seats, Likud leader Benjamin Netanyahu forms Israel’s 32nd government, with an initial coalition of 69 of 120 seats in parliament (Knesset). Kadima goes into opposition. Israel Beitaynu and the “Russian immigrant party” led by Avigdor Lieberman forms a key part of the ruling coalition government.