Since the Constituent Assembly and the First Knesset are unable to put a constitution together, the Knesset starts to legislate basic laws on various subjects. The First Basic Law of Israel is passed by the Third Knesset on February 12, 1958. It does not define the powers of the Knesset, but states that its seat is in Jerusalem and should include 120 members. The law deals with the electoral system, the right to vote and be elected, the Knesset’s term of office, the principles relating to the Knesset elections, the service of Knesset members, the parliamentary immunity of the Knesset members and the Knesset buildings as well as the work of the Knesset and its committees. (source)